John Hattie’s 8 Mindframes: Know Thy Impact

Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

John Hattie’s 8 Mindframes: Know Thy Impact

  1. My fundamental task is to evaluate my teaching on my students’ learning and achievement
  2. The success and failure of my students’ learning is about what I do or don’t do. I am a change agent.
  3. I want to talk more about learning than teaching.
  4. Assessment is about my impact.
  5. I teach through dialogue not monologue.
  6. I enjoy challenge and never retreat into “doing my best”.
  7. It’s my role to develop positive relationships in class and staffrooms.
  8. I inform all about the language of learning.

The 3 mindframes that spoke to me were:

  1. # 3 – I want to talk more about learning than teaching.
  2. # 5 . – I teach through dialogue not monologue
  3. #  7 – It’s my role to develop positive relationships in my class and staffrooms.

All three of these mindframes spoke to me as I consistently assess myself to see if I am teaching or letting my students learn the concepts.  I ask myself am I giving them the answers or am I letting them figure it out for themselves?  I prefer not to do all the speaking in my classes so I devise essential questions that stimulate conversation and dialogue. In fact, I like an open discussion where multiple learners are engaged, challenged and motivated to find out more.  Even beyond the course outcomes.  And I take time to get to know each student’s names in my class by using word associations with their names.  Acronyms, nicknames and shared stories help me remember a student’s name.  I have discovered from teaching over 12 introductory workshops that remembering and recalling a students’ name is an important and vital skill.   I create positive relationships with each student so the student feels respected and less anxious in class.  Students are more likely to participate in class discussion if you create a positive learning environment.  If you are authentic, you are approachable.

Provitera-McGlynn (2001) states “Most students come to the first class feeling some level of anxiety, and studies show that two of their greatest concerns are whether they will like the teacher and how well they will get along with their fellow students”.   Model positive behaviour amongst your learners and teachers.  If you model respect, curiosity and kindness, students will model that behaviour.   This is how I relate these 3 mindframes, which spoke to me, to my lessons.

These 8 mindframes are essential to teaching and learning.  Hattie describes essential teaching skills as a constant revolving paradigm on learning, evaluating, re-assessing, modelling and revising.  His 8 mindframes forces teachers to evaluate and re-assess their teaching strategies to see if it is effective or not?

There have been too many times where I paid for a course and the instructor read straight from the textbook or powerpoint.   Read text word by word right from the powerpoint.  If you have not seen this video, it is a must see! (Life After Death by Powerpoint 2010)  In my college days, I  sat in class as a student thinking “this teacher is not passionate about his subject.  This teacher is so boring.  How am I going to learn this material if the teacher is not excited about it?!”  The results were poor achievement, poor attendance and “just getting by”.  I was not self directed to learn anymore than that was required of me.  The environment was such a negative learning environment that it turned me right off from education.  I felt like I was paying for something that punished me.  But when you walk into a new instructor’s class and discover a different type of teacher that leads you to the subject of discovery. The environment is so positive. The group activities are planned perfectly that it doesn’t feel like a boring lesson.   It’s almost ethereal. The learning possibilities are endless.  In those positive learning environments, I became a self-directed learner.  I was motivated to learn.  I was excited to attend that class as I knew it would be engaging and I knew I would learn something new.   So which class would you rather sit in?   Either you’re an instructor with passion or an instructor who gets paid $xx an hour who just wants to read you text from a textbook or a powerpoint.  What about engagement? What about asking essential questions? What about getting to know you or your name? These instructors who don’t practice these skills give education a bad name.  Students want to be self-directed.  Knowles’s (1980, p 43) states that one major principle of andragogy is that mature “adults have a deep psychological need to be generally self-directing”.   This is after all, the instructor’s prime goal which is to put the onus of their own learning onto the student’s shoulders.

By knowing thy impact of John Hattie’s 8 mindframes, will help my learners be successful in learning.

Reference:

Knowles, M.S. (1980). The modern practice of adult education: Andragogy versus pedagogy. New York: Cambridge Books

McMillan, D. (Nov. 2009).  Life After Death By Powerpoint 2010.  Retrieved on Oct. 14, 2014, from https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KbSPPFYxx3o

Provitera-McGlynn, A. (2001).  Successful beginnings for college teaching:  Engaging your students from the first day.  Madison, WI: Atwood.

Reynolds, C. (Sept 2013).  Hattie’s 8 Mindframes.  Retrieved on Oct 14, 2014, from https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6xpcXobZF1k#action=share

1 thought on “John Hattie’s 8 Mindframes: Know Thy Impact”

Leave a Reply

